If you have an expired or nearly expired Workspace subscription, there are some important things to keep in mind. No worries, we’ll remind you important dates and you’ll have plenty of time to access your documents or reactivate your subscription.
- How does the deletion process work?
- Which Workspaces are eligible for deletion?
- How can I reactivate my subscription?
- What if my Workspace has been expired for long time?
- Can I access my documents before the Workspace is deleted?
How does the deletion process work?
Two important things happen when your subscription expires. First, your Workspace goes into read-only mode — you can access and view all your documents, but you can‘t make changes, save new documents, add new Guests or Workspace Viewers.
At the same time, when you cancel your subscription or it expires, a 90-day waiting period will automatically begin for that Workspace. If the subscription is still expired after that period, we’ll delete the Workspace.
As always, we‘ll do our best to keep you informed about important events that can affect your subscription and documents. Just like we send reminder emails for Workspaces nearing expiration and confirmation emails after you cancel a subscription, we will send you a reminder email two months after your subscription has expired. Once you receive this email, you’ll have another 30 days to download your documents or reactivate your subscription. If your subscription is still expired 30 days after you receive the final reminder email, the Workspace will be deleted.
Here's a recap of the deletion timeline:
- A 90-day waiting time period begins when your subscription expires
- All documents in the Workspace go into read-only mode
- You’ll receive a reminder two months after your subscription has expired
- This reminder warns you that you have 30 days to reactivate your subscription
- If your subscription is still inactive after these 30 days, we‘ll delete the Workspace
Which Workspaces are eligible for deletion?
Our trial period is fully featured, so you can create and save documents in your Workspace. Once the trial expires, your trial Workspaces will go into the 90-day waiting period as described in clause 4.2 of our Terms of Service.
Standard Workspaces are those that were paid at some point but the subscription was later canceled or payment could no longer be processed.
Personal Workspaces not linked to a paid account
Personal Workspaces were granted to customers who purchased license keys before May 5th, 2021, and have access to some collaboration tools and features. If you own a Personal Workspace and your license key has expired or your subscription is canceled, the Personal Workspace will be marked for deletion.
How can I reactivate my subscription?
If you have an expired trial Workspace
- Sign into your Workspace. Select your Workspace in the top-left corner (make sure the correct Workspace name is showing!). Note: You’ll need to be an Owner or Admin to reactive the subscription.
- On the left sidebar, click on People and Settings
- You’ll see a banner inviting you to subscribe, click on the Subscribe to Sketch and follow the onscreen instructions
If you have a canceled Standard Workspace
- Sign into your Workspace. Select your Workspace in the top-left corner (make sure the correct Workspace name is showing!). Note: You’ll need to be an Owner or Admin to reactive the subscription
- Click People & Settings on the left sidebar
- Head to the Billing tab at the top of the page and go to payment method. Then, click on Edit and add a new credit card.
If you have a Personal Workspace
Upgrade your Personal Workspace to a Standard Subscription, you’ll get access to all the collaboration tools and features, like adding Viewers or other Editors. Upgrading is really easy! You will get a free 30-day trial period once the upgrade is done, and your billing cycle will start when the trial ends. Here are the steps to upgrade your personal Workspace
What if my Workspace has been expired for a long time?
If your Standard or Personal Workspace has been expired for some time now we‘ll send you an email to let you know your Workspace is on its final 30 days. If you don‘t take any action after this, we‘ll delete that Workspace.
Can I access my documents before the Workspace is deleted?
Absolutely! You’ll have access to all of them in read-only mode and available to download during the waiting period (90 days).
We’d love it if you chose to keep using Sketch, but if the time has come to say goodbye, please remember to download all your documents — we‘ll delete them if the Workspace is still inactive after the waiting time period.
Please contact us if you run into any issues or have any questions about this process